What Will Happen If We Lose Senses

 

Unfortunately, I have not finished the reading of Voices from Chernobyl. In this blog, instead, I will share my thoughts about another movie, which also is about disasters.

The movie, which I want to talk about, is Perfect Sense, formerly known as The Last Word. It is a 2011 science fiction drama film directed by David Mackenzie and written by Kim Fupz Aakeson, starring Eva Green and Ewan McGregor.

This movie made quite an impression on me. The disaster films I have watched before always are flooded with death, depression and finally hope. There are always heroes. People will survive, eventually. The purpose of this kind of disaster films is always to warn people. I was shocked and impressed when I first saw 2012. However, after 2012, I cannot have the same feeling anymore.

Perfect Sense is different, in my opinion. It is more a love story than a disaster film. A couple fall in love with each other; unfortunately, an epidemic begins to spread throughout the globe, causing humans to lose their sensory perceptions one by one. Humans lose their senses of smell first, then the senses of taste, hearing, and finally vision. Each loss is preceded by an outburst of an intense feeling.

The epidemic does not cause a lot of death directly, which makes the movies not so heavy. People tries to adapt to each loss and trying to carry on living as best they can. A scene that impressed me is that a lot of people are in restaurant, using sign language to communicate with each other. They already lose the senses of taste and hearing. But they still are elegantly turned out and having meals though they cannot taste. They do not give up themselves. The couple kiss each other, wearing masks. Though they are infected, they still try to have a normal life—eat, sleep, work and love.

The final scene is that the two find each other and embrace, and the rest of the world, become blind. It doesn’t matter if there will be a treatment. I was touched beyond words when I first finished the movie. I think the director gave the best ending of the movie. The couple lose their senses of smell, taste, hearing and vision; but they can still touch each other and go forward hand in hand.

“Feel love coming before losing the sense of smell, drink the cup of life to the bottom before losing the sense of taste, say ‘I love you’ before you cannot hear, watch your face before we cannot see each other anymore. These are the most gentle things I can do for you before end is near.”

I think it is a moving story. There are people of strong characters. They feel sad and anger, but eventually forgive each other and LIVE.

 

trim-2

 

Leave a Reply

